NEXT EVENT  Tuesday, July 23
Parade to the Fair

February 22, 2021
2020 USRA Modified National Champion Lucas Schott

USRA Director of Track Operations Bryce Hall, in conjunction with RacinDirt.com, recently spoke with 2020 USRA Modified National Champion Lucas Schott to discuss this past year in the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series and what lies ahead for the 24-year-old from Chatfield, Minnesota.

Returning to the top of the heap in the USRA Modified division, Schott enjoyed a solid season en route to his second Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national title. His first came in 2016.

Despite being winless at his home track Deer Creek Speedway, Schott scored 15 victories during the 2020 campaign, many times having to travel away from his home state due to government restrictions surrounding COVID-19. ‘Cool Hand Luke’ racked up five wins at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa—including a victory in the Summit USRA Nationals—and four at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wisconsin.

He was a three-time winner at the Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa, and added four more wins at four different racetracks in four states: Sports Park Raceway in Fort Dodge, Iowa; Longdale Speedway in Longdale, Oklahoma; Monarch Motor Speedway in Wichita Falls, Texas; and a win on November 1 in the season finale at the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kansas.

The win at Humboldt was a spectacular one as he started the main event on the front row alongside 2015 USRA Modified national champ Jake Gallardo of Las Cruces, New Mexico—his lone challenger for the 2020 title. Schott went on to take the win and pocket $5,000 for his efforts.

It was the second straight USRA Modified crown for a Gopher State racer and the ninth overall for a competitor from the Land of 10,000 Lakes. Schott earned $10,000 for his USRA Modified national championship plus additional cash in the PBM Performance Products Northern Region and track points funds plus numerous contingency awards.

Final 2020 USRA Modified national points:

1. Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn. ... 4535

2. Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M. 4512

3. Clyde Dunn Jr., Rockwall, Texas ... 4388

4. Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark. ... 4319

5. Josh Angst, Winona, Minn. ... 4295

6. Fito Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M. ... 4275

7. Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn. ... 4211

8. Jack Sartain, Terrell, Texas ... 4204

9. Jason Cummins, New Richland, Minn. ... 4203

10. Kale Westover, Blair, Okla. ... 4177

11. Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas ... 4170

12. Max Eddie Thomas, Quinlan, Texas ... 4163

13. Tyler Hibner, Chillicothe, Mo. ... 4083

14. Chase Ellingson, Iowa Falls, Iowa ... 3911

15. Jason Ingalls, Longview, Texas ... 3890

16. Mark Dotson, Cameron, Mo. ... 3875

17. Philip Houston, Odessa, Texas ... 3865

18. Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla. ... 3857

19. Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn. ... 3855

20. Devon Havlik, Iowa Falls, Iowa ... 3757

USRA Modified national champions include Lucas Schott (2020 and 2016), Brandon Davis (2019 and 2012), Darron Fuqua (2018), Jason Cummins (2017 and 2010), Jake Gallardo (2015), Fito Gallardo (2014), Matt Dotson (2013), Johnny Bone Jr. (2011), Greg Skaggs (2009), Brad Waits (2008 and 2007), Larry Herring (2006) and Ron Luitjens (2005).

Visit usraracing.com for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USRA news delivered to your inbox.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS:  American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersChevrolet PerformanceChristie Door CompanyFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsK1 RaceGear by Ryan BowersKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMesilla Valley TransportationMSDMyRacePassNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirt.comSummit Racing EquipmentSunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS:  Boubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDay Motor SportsDealer Reconditioning ServicesForty9 DesignsFour Seven Designs Salon & BoutiqueHi-Tek PavingMensink Racing ProductsPBM Performance ProductsS&S Fishing & RentalTexas Star Concrete ServicesTraeger Wood Pellet Grills by Elliott MotorsportsYouDirt.com.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS:  AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansEdelbrockHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks & SpringsJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsKeyser ManufacturingLandrum Performance SpringsMedieval ChassisQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Disc Brakes.

USRA RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, 82 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Belleville High Banks, Big O Speedway, Buffalo Creek Speedway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Chateau Speedway, Creek County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lake Ozark Speedway, Lawton Speedway, Lebanon Midway Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monarch Motor Speedway, Nevada Speedway, Old 71 Speedway, Outlaw Motor Speedway, Randolph County Raceway, Rapid Speedway, Red Dirt Raceway, Revolution Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Superbowl Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway.