NEXT EVENT  Tuesday, July 23
Parade to the Fair

Hamilton County Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway announce top finishers in dual-track point fund

November 11, 2023

Earlier this year, Todd and Janet Staley announced two great point funds at both the Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway and Pritchard Family Auto Stores Mason City Motor Speedway for their Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series drivers, as well as a two-track dual points fund for both tracks.

The 2023 dual-track points fund at both historic dirt ovals in Iowa was based on 13 nights of racing. The Hamilton County Speedway completed 12 points nights and Mason City surpassed 13.

Devon Havlik, Bill Crimmins, Ty Griffith, Kolby Goepel and Tyler Crimmins emerged as track champions at the end of the points season in Webster City on September 2. Havlik pocketed $1,840 for his USRA Modified track championship while Crimmins, Griffith and Goepel pocketed $920 for their efforts.

In Mason City, veteran racer Al Hejna earned the track championship in the USRA Modifieds and pocketed $2,000. Track champions Travis Shipman (USRA Stock Cars), Brandon Hare (USRA B-Mods) and Chris Hovden (USRA Hobby Stocks) each garnered $1,000 for claiming the top spots in their class. Chase Daniels took home $770 in the Outlaw Mini Mods.

In the dual-track points fund came down to the final race of the season and was awarded to drivers based on their best 30 nights. Any driver that surpassed 30 nights was able to eliminate their lowest-scoring points nights.

Kolby Goepel was the only driver to hit every night at both tracks in 2023 and led the dual-track points battle until the very end when Scott Dobel took the top honors away. Rounding out the top five were Bryce Sommerfeld, Griffith and Bryer McCoy. A total of 33 nights were completed that drivers accumulated points for.

For winning the dual-track points title, Dobel banked $3,000 and a trophy for his work while Goepel claimed the runner-up spot and wound up with a $2,000 check.

1. Scott Dobel, 2658 (31 nights), $3000.
2. Kolby Goepel, 2629 (33 nights), $2000.
3. Bryce Sommerfeld, 2523 (30 nights), $1500.
4. Ty Griffith, 2518 (30 nights), $1000.
5. Bryer McCoy, 2306 (29 nights), $870.
6. George Gilliland, 2004 (30 nights), $800.
7. Chris Hovden, 2003 (22 nights), $513.
8. Devon Havlik, 1915 (25 nights), $500.
9. Brandon Hare, 1800 (21 nights), $350.
10. Carter Koop, 1701 (19 nights), $253.
11. Joe Chisholm, 1673 (18 nights), $180.
12. Zac Smith, 1640 (21 nights), $210.
13. Jeremy Crimmins, 1611 (19 nights), $190.
14. Paul Conrad, 1575 (20 nights), $200.
15. Andrew Borchardt, 1541 (19 nights), $190.

Watch for more great news between the two tracks coming for 2024.

The Pritchard Family Auto Stores Mason City Motor Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay oval located 5.1 miles east of I-35 at exit 194 on SR 122 (at the North Iowa Fairgrounds) in Mason City, Iowa.

For more information call (515) 832-6000 or check out masoncitymotorspeedway.com and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Opening in July 1910, the Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway is the oldest speedway in the state of Iowa. In 1938, work began on the current location at the Hamilton County Fairgrounds. The semi-banked half-mile dirt track was completed in the spring of 1939, and the first races were held on the track in September of that year.

The racetrack is located off US 20 at exit 140, then 1.2 miles north, then 0.5 mile east on Bank St., then 0.4 mile south to 1200 Bluff St, Webster City, IA 50595 (at the Hamilton County Fairgrounds).

For more information, call (515) 832-6000 or check out hamiltoncospeedway.com and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

USRA awards banquet January 27: The United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) and United States Racing Association (USRA) will host a joint awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 27, 2024, at Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino to celebrate the 2023 racing season for both organizations. Click here for more information.

USRA moving fast forward: For more than two decades, the USRA has attracted more and more racetracks and dirt track racers each year through fair, logical and cost-effective rules accompanied by an organization that puts the racers, racetracks and their fans first. During the 2023 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, more than 60 of America's finest dirt ovals will host more than 1,000 nights of racing.

USRA competitors can register online here or call (515) 832-6000 to register by phone. You can also download the application here and then submit your completed form by email at office@usraracing.com or fax at (515) 832-7958.

To learn more, check out usraracing.com. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to join our email list and get USRA news and exclusive promotions delivered to your inbox.

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersChevrolet PerformanceChristie Door CompanyFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Allen Autosports Race CarsARMI ContractorsBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDAY MotorsportsDuvall ElectricGunshepherd.comInnovative AutoGlass & Window TintPBM Performance ProductsStar 1 Roofing & ConstructionStealth Thru TubingTexas Locomotive SolutionsTNT Auto PartsYouDirt.com.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks & SpringsJE PistonsK1 RaceGear by Ryan BowersKeyser ManufacturingLandrum Performance SpringsMD3Medieval ChassisMSDPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterQuickCar Racing ProductsRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Disc Brakes.

USRA RACETRACKS: 67 Speedway of Texarkana, 81 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Bolivar Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Diamond Park Speedway, Eagle Valley Speedway, Electric City Speedway, Elk City Motorsports Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gondik Law Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino, Humboldt Speedway, Hunt County Raceway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, Lawton Speedway, Legacy Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Raceway, Northwest Missouri State Fairgrounds, Ogilvie Raceway, Outlaw Motor Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Red Cedar Speedway, Red Dirt Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sabine Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Sandia Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Super Bee Speedway, Thunder Valley Speedway, Tomahawk Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tulsa Speedway, US 36 Raceway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway, Winneshiek Raceway.